mtbr member
    Sep 2011

My first 'real' bike: Trek Wahoo 29er (GF same thing?)

Disclaimer: I am a noob. I've gotten back into biking over the past month and am ready to stop riding the 13" no-namer I borrowed but never gave back to my sister, and upgrade to my first 'real' bike. I've put about 100 miles on the no-namer (26in MTB, non working front suspension), including local single track (GREAT TIMES!!!).

Please don't make this a post about why I should spend $1000.00 and get a real bike, as Im looking to spend around $500.00 and think that any LBS 29er beginning bike is going to be far superior to anything I purchase at a local chain store.

All that being said, I have decided through multiple visits at my LBS and others that I want to purchase the Trek Wahoo at $529.00 (2010/11 model Black/red). The shop offers lifetime maintenance for free and does all the warranty work without hassle. I prefer to not buy online/CL etc.

QUESTION: When I am looking this bike up online I see the Trek Wahoo and the Gary Fisher Wahoo. Both are around the same price ($559 vs. $579) but the GF has a lock out. What are the other differences? Is it worth searching out a LBS that sells the pure GF version? (I understand somewhat that Trek makes GF bikes?)

Thanks for your input.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Gary Fisher and Trek are the same thing. Trek has owned Fisher bikes for many years. Over the past two years the Gary Fisher Bikes have become named "Trek - Gary Fisher Collection" and some to just Trek. So if you find a bike or webiste talking about a bike that has a big "Gary Fisher" on the down tube, its an old model. The 2012 Model has a big "Trek" on the sides of the down tube and is either blue witha white Trek logo or black with a red Trek logo. Trek web site has the 2012 models.