mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Minitou tower pro on GT karakoram 3.0?

I posted this in the shocks section but I figured more 28er people would check it out here.

I have a GT karakoram 3.0. I've been thinking about upgrading the fork. Could I put a manitou tower pro on it? I'm new to MTBiking and especially the fork stuff.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Yes an excellent choice. Fully tunable with the shim stack.
    Manitou uses a longer top piece for 120mm travel and cuts it down to save weight for 100mm and 80mm. The travel is set by the ride kit rod. So if you got a 120mm travel fork and a 100mm ride kit with a softer or firmer spring(the springs interchange) based on your weight, you'd have some added future travel and ride adjustability.
    There's a Manitou tuning thread in Suspensions.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    Thanks for the response. I weight around 165 and I'm 5'11". I think my current shock has 100mm travel. Will it hurt the bike if I go to 120mm? Would I have to get a new front wheel or anything? I guess I'm kind of confused with the pull out axle. Right now I have a quick release but my axle doesn't come out.

mtbr member
    I have Karakoram 3.0 as well. I looked hard at the manitou and almost pulled the trigger. However, everything I read about the tower pro you couldn't change the travel from 120mm to 100mm.

The stock sun tour has a 100mm travel. Most seem to say that going up to 120mm is fine. I didn't want to take the chance plus 100mm is fine for my aggressive riding style.

If the fork you are looking at getting has a 15mm axle you will have to get a new wheel. The stock rim is not ccompatable.

Take a look at the x-fusion slide 29 fork. I love mine.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by VuDoo11 View Post
    I have Karakoram 3.0 as well. I looked hard at the manitou and almost pulled the trigger. However, everything I read about the tower pro you couldn't change the travel from 120mm to 100mm.