Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Masi Soulville Monstercross/commuter

So yeah, I'm definitely not following the rules with this one. But I need to know what I may be missing. I'm no expert on geometry etc.

I have an opportunity to buy a new Masi Soulville 10 or 7 dirt cheap. Like cheaper than I can buy the Sram Rival Group anywhere new. Granted it is not a full group as it doesn't have the rival shifter and brakes. But I would be putting a Salsa Fargo style drop bar on it, changing the levers/shifters to rival, and putting some avid shorty's while still staying low on the price.

I have a dedicated road bike, 2 mtn bikes, and this would be the bike to pull the kid in the trailer, commute to work (4 miles one way) get some groceries, and have fun. Bust through a field and cut through a park or up the gully by my house instead of always sticking to the roads.

There has got to be clearance for a 1.9 on that bike without the fenders, the steel rides awesome, and when I went to have the wife try one out I fell in love with it.

So tell me what are the cons of the geo, bottom bracket height, steer tube angle? It's gonna be ugly as hell and dead sexy at the same time. I don't care what it weighs, I won't race anyone but the occasional overweight Lance Armstrong wanna be with his full kit and 8k carbon bike. And even then, I will just sprint past on the uphill purely for the shock factor. Feedback? Weight weenies on 8k carbon bikes need not reply. I don't really care what you say unless you really just like bikes like I do. Let the bashing begin.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    I know, replying to my own thread, but just thought I would throw out my only other alternative at this point. Van Dessel WTF built up in a similar fashion, but obviously with disc brakes. It will cost me an extra 1k almost though, so will have to wait.

(was) Big in Japan

Was there...

... a question in there somewhere?
    Ride.

Drinker w/ Riding Problem