mtbr member
    Jul 2018

Looking for advice

So I bought a 2018 kona Mahuna 29er on Friday and Iíve taken it out twice so far, Iím a complete noob but Iíve been enjoying it so far. After looking up some fit tweaking guides I believe my lbs sold me a bike that is too big for me (a large) Iím 5í9Ē 31Ē inseam. When I stand over the bike my bag is touching the top bar and my arms are at full lock while riding and I find Iím getting some wrist pain after an hour or so of riding. My question is should my lbs exchange the bike for me even though Iíve ridden it? The rear chain guard broke about an hour into my first ride, is it now unexchangeable? The guy that picked the bike for me looked like he was 15 and it was his first day... what do you guys think? Am I ****ed?

Interplanetary Poultry
    According to the Kona fit guide on their website you are at the high end of the medium frame and the very low end of the large frame fitment wise. I'm 5'7" and I usually ride a medium frame. You could call the store and talk to a manager about the issue, see if you can try a medium to see how it feels. you could also look at the stem length, see if you may need a shorter stem.
    Editor In Chief, "Internet Tough Guy Magazine"
    "Home of Chuck Norris' Keyboard"

Co Springs
    I think you have a good chance at getting some help if you are assertive but polite about the situation. Go back to the store right away with the bike and talk to the owner or mgr to explain your concerns. Don't crush the kid who made the mistake but let them realize your decision was based on their professional staff and experiences and that was a misnomer. I'll bet they can adjust/adapt or change out a few things at minimal or Zero cost to get you the proper fit or will work with you on a different bike if an exchange is needed. Make sure you are working with a top-notch experienced employee all through that routine.