mtbr member
    Nov 2010

Kona Mahuna or DB Overdrive comp

Im new to the Mt bike world and this forum. I bought a mongoose xr 250 this summer to see if I would stick with it. This bike is holding up well for what it is. I decided to start peddling to get in better shape for XC quad racing and turns out I really enjoy mt biking almost as much as atving(almost ) anyway, Im looking for a better bike now and the 29ers are very appealing to me. Ive narrowed it down to these 2 bikes, just looking for some input or advice as to which bike would be better for a big clumsy guy like myself (6'2" and 275) They seem to have alot of simular componets. Thanks for any response.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    I think you mean the Kona Kahuna :-)

But anyway, I have a Kahuna and I love it. I'm also 6'2" and a bit heavier than you and it holds up fine. While I don't go jumping, I still get up to speed on the rough stuff and it doesn't miss a beat.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    I had a quick look at the 2011 specs for both and I'd recommend the Kona.

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    [QUOTE=R+P+K]I think you mean the Kona Kahuna :-)

Kona is making a 29er Mahuna for 2011

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by R+P+K

But anyway, I have a Kahuna and I love it. I'm also 6'2" and a bit heavier than you and it holds up fine. While I don't go jumping, I still get up to speed on the rough stuff and it doesn't miss a beat.
    I seen the 2011 bikes and the one I looked at was the Mahuna. maybe a typo on the website IDK> anyway, what fork does yours have and does it seem to work well? Im alittle worried about my weight being to much for it.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    [QUOTE=jackattack]
    Quote Originally Posted by R+P+K

Kona is making a 29er Mahuna for 2011
    Yes you're right, they are making a Mahuna.

Didn't know that OP, sorry.

29-26 Who Cares Just Ride