Do it for Deegan

Jumping a XC style hardtail 29er? YES OR NO?

I have purchased my first full size "adult" bicycle a Cannondale Trail 5 29er and I want to know my limitations! I live in Florida so that's already a huge limitation in itself but there are still obstacles out there that I need to know if I should tackle or steer clear! I know when I bought the bike that is technically in the starting out category but I think I want to upgrade the components as I break/outgrow the original ones. My type of riding consist of road fitness, single track, and downhill offroad fun!! Also there are small to medium size bmx trail style double and tabletop jumps at some of the places I ride and I would like to play around on those if my bike can handle it?

mtbr member
    Once you start jumping that bike, you are essentially voiding the warranty so enjoy but do it at your own risk. The bike wasn't made for it, but isn't to say it won't handle small jumps.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    If your riding shows up limitaations in the Suntour fork, an upgrade option is available from Suntour.
    If you want to upgrade your Suntour fork
    Look on page 5 for a review.
    A strong light wheelset or at least front wheel would help. Choices may depend on your weight.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    your bike can definitely handle hitting a good sized jump perfectly....but that's not how it'll work out every time, no matter how skilled you are.

The wheels will take a beating and probably not last too long if you start jumping it. Case the rear wheel substantially one time and that might be it. Of course your weight will make a big difference too.