Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Jumping a 29er

mtbr member
    Jan 2012

Jumping a 29er

Its been a few years since ive rode an actual jump park. Fortunately there are still quit a few "hits" on the trails i frequent. Ive been on a 29er that supplements my suspension 26er for about 4 years now, the most recent build being a smaller framed more aggressive 29er. I think ive concluded that the larger wheels really make timing landings difficult. Im so used to having that extra time between between landings that the bigger wheels just makes for much more unpredictable landings. A lot of it also depends on what the landing itself is like. Also the fact that i sit so much higher on my 29er than my 26er also makes jumping more awkward in general. For all the areas where 29ers excel i feel like this is a major downside to riding 29ers aggressively. It may just be that my brain is wired to landing a smaller wheel, after all ive been riding 26 inch mtbs for over 20 years, 29ers for about 4. Anyone else share these sentiments?

transmitter~receiver
    why do you sit so much higher on your 29er?

sounds like you may have a fit issue.
    Quote Originally Posted by pvd
    Time to stop believing the hype and start doing some science.
    29er Tire Weight Database

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    So youre saying 29ers dont ride higher than 26ers? Maybe its just an illusion but i feel like im sitting way higher on my hardtail 29er than i do on my FS 26er.

transmitter~receiver
    Quote Originally Posted by munstro View Post
    So youre saying 29ers dont ride higher than 26ers?
    that's right.
    Maybe its just an illusion but i feel like im sitting way higher on my hardtail 29er than i do on my FS 26er.
    compare bottom bracket heights.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    are you saying a 24 inch bmx bike doesnt sit higher than a 20 inch bmx bike? Or that an old kx 80 big wheel doesnt sit higher than a standard old kx80?

Professional Crastinator