mtbr member
    Jan 2009

Jamis Dakota 29?

Hello everyone...brand new to the forums. But I was trying to get a little input on the 2009 Jamis Dakota 29er. I'm relatively new to trail riding, but have been riding pretty hard for the past couple years...I say hard but definitely not great. I've been riding a 2008 Jamis Durango 2, but kind of fell in love with the 29er at my LBS recently. I would love any opinions/suggestions on the Dakota. My LBS which has been great to me deals mainly in Jamis and Specialized, so in a perfect world those would be the companies I'm interested in. But I don't want to write off any other makes, even though I've loved my Durango to death. And I really want to steer clear of anything over $2K. Thanks in advance and good riding.

M_S
    mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Well, if you want to continue the relationship with that LBS, what other brands do they sell?

The Jamis looks solid though, and I've always liked that company. Maybe it's because I really regret selling my Jamis touring bike.

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    Thanks for the quick reply. That's the thing though...my current LBS is pretty freaking small. lol So really the only two brands they carry in regards to trail XC bikes are Jamis and Specialized. Like I said though...if there is a better bike out there I'm willing to purchase elsewhere if I must. But atleast in the relatively short time I've rode my Durango I couldn't have been happier and the Dakota just seems like a nice step up...

Former Bike Wrench
    Nothing wrong with a Jamis, good solid bikes. But since they carry Specialized as well...might be worth a look at the Stumpjumper Comp 29

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    This will be my only bump...

But anyone else have an opinion I'd love to hear it. As it stands I'm still looking at the Jamis Dakota and the Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 29...anyone have an opinion between those two or comments on anything?

Happy in Happy Valley
    Jun 2008