Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2013

Hayes dyno sport brake question! (Trek mamba)

Howdy, im just starting to get into mtb. I got a trek mamba a few weeks ago, however I'm not happy with the brakes at all. I cant lock the front wheel, infact i can barely stop using the front brake. I spoke to the bike rep who kept telling me that all bikes after different, but from all the other bikes ive ridden with hydraulic brakes, they stop the bike quickly.

Just wondering if anyone can comment on the stopping power of the hayes dyno sport hydraulic brakes? Ive ridden a mates bike with shimano's on them, just an entry level one, and it was amazing compared to. Just wndering what the hayes brakes are meant to be like and if the pads or something are contaminated/air in the brake lines?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    Also, i realised ive put this in the wrong section but dont know how to shift it... any help? lol

ready to ride
    No personal experience with that specific brake but it sounds like the brake needs to be bled. Any brake hydro or mechanical should apply enough force where if applied improperly should about send you over the bars. At the very least it should give you good stopping power.

That said all brakes aren't equal. I gave up on Avids after having them continually go soft after multiple bleeds. I got them replaced under warranty which SRAM upped the model but after that experience I had no confidence in them. Dropped some coin on some shimanos and couldn't be happier.

That said I would go back to your LBS and get them to bleed the brake in question.
    Sent via my heady vibes from the heart of Pisgahstan

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    Thanks mattnmtns. Given the bike is only a fortnight or so old ill just hassle the LBS until im happy.

mtbr member