mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Handlebar height change with new fork help.

I am getting my new fork on today. I am a noob but I saw a good deal on the fork and the stock Suntour coil fork was just ok.

The local bike shop asked me about handlebar height so he knows where to cut. I said I don't know so just leave same height. Right now the are about saddle height.

I could call them and have them change the height if they haven't cut yet.

How would I be able to tell what height to use?

Should I go higher, same or lower?

Any benefits from going higher or lower?

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    If you don't know where your handlebars are most comfortable then I'd suggest leaving room for at least 10mm-20mm of spacers, you can always cut off the excess at a later date or put the spacers on top of the stem.

MTB B'dos
    I'd most definitely ask them to try and sett the stem/bar back relative to how it was as you're accustomed to it, but I'd also ask them to leave AT LEAST 25mm ontop of the stem with spacers so if you wished you could play about with raising and lowering the stem and see how you like it. Remember, you can always cut off more, you cannot add on.
    One day your life will flash before your eyes, will it be worth watching??
    MTB Barbados
    My MTB vids

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by LyNx View Post
    I'd most definitely ask them to try and sett the stem/bar back relative to how it was as you're accustomed to it, but I'd also ask them to leave AT LEAST 25mm ontop of the stem with spacers so if you wished you could play about with raising and lowering the stem and see how you like it. Remember, you can always cut off more, you cannot add on.
    I think my bike came with two spacers (rings) that I saw on it. I would assume they would but them back on.
    Your saying just to leave those spacers on (as long as there about 25mm total)?Then if I want to lower, just remove spacers?