Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2015

General purpose - best bike for me out of...

Im just looking for a general purpose bike to do all things mountain bike related. out of what I have listed, what would be the best bang for the buck.

1. 2015 Salso el Mariachi 2
    2. 2014 Trek Superfly 8 Gary Fisher
    these above two are all i can find in stock in my size and price range at the lbs

3. Trek Superfly 7
    4. Trek Stache 7
    5. Stumpjumper Comp 29
    6. Giant XTC Advanced 29er
    7. Niner Air 9 (pushing my budget)
    these above i would have to order at lbs

8. Airborne Goblin XO - id have to order blindly. im a little leary because i have no mechanical knowledge of bike assembly or maintenence

Any other good ones I missed. Im a beginner, but want something decent within my budget and don't want a used bike. I also don't want to go beginner cheap and kick myself down the line and spend even more money upgrading stuff i could have bought with the bike.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    What is your price range?

mtbr member
    Mar 2015
    around 2k. maybe slightly more if warranted.

mtbr member
    Recently picked up a Salsa ElMar SS. Very nice bike. Surprisingly lite for steel, too.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    If you order through the bike shops are you stuck with the bike if it doesn't fit well or you don't like it after a parking lot test?

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    Are there any bike demos in your area? We have an annual demo with many manufacturers where you can actually ride demo bikes on trails. Something like this would be really helpful for you.