Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2007

Fox 34 vs Rock Shox stiffness, tested

After all specualtion about the stiifness of the 34 mm stanchions vs 32 opposed to 15 mm vs 20 TA there is finally some data.
    From Bike Magazin (Germ) dec. 2011.

The answer is... both.
    The bigger stanchions do give the Fox an edge in braking stiffness, the bigger axle on the Rock Shox nudges out the smaller one in torsion:

Fox 34 float 140 mm travel :
    2006 g
    torsion 24.8 Nm/degr
    brake stiffness 232.2 Nm/Degr
    Revelation XX 137 mm travel
    1885 g
    torsion: 27.5 Nm/degr
    brake stiffn.: 204.7 Nm/degr.

steep fast and loose :)
    what does this actually translate to "in-the-field" however ?

both forks are on my radar currently.......

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    As an engineer myself, I can't help but wonder about other variables and their effect to the end user (rider). For instance, the wheels (each part [hub, spoke, rim] and as a whole), tires, and their interface (wheel width/tire pressure/sidewall stiffness...etc), rider weight, head tube/frame stiffness..etc. All these variables could possibly have more effect on the what the rider feels over the stiffness of a fork.

I like seeing data, but unless every variable is accounted for the data is useless. It's basic scientific rules of testing. None-the-less thanks for posting this info
    www.quinnphoto.smugmug.com
    07 S-Works Enduro SL - Sold
    08 Epic Marathon - Sold
    2012 Stumpy EVO 29er frame up build

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by bquinn View Post
    As an engineer myself, I can't help but wonder about other variables and their effect to the end user (rider). For instance, the wheels (each part [hub, spoke, rim] and as a whole), tires, and their interface (wheel width/tire pressure/sidewall stiffness...etc), rider weight, head tube/frame stiffness..etc. All these variables could possibly have more effect on the what the rider feels over the stiffness of a fork.