Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Dec 2012

cornering on a 29er

Hi all. I'm a newbie mountain bike rider and I just bought my first bike. It's a 29er. My question is how do I effectively corner on a 29er? My first two rides I've almost wiped out, whereas it seems like the guys on the 26er bikes when around the corners faster. Should I be slowing down more than the other guys to turn the corners? Is there a technique that I'm missing?

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    I noticed on my 29er vs 26er it requires leaning more.

beater
    You didn't say, but are the others more experienced riders? Cornering is a skill like any other, and has to be learned. Take a look at this page, and watch the video. It'll get you headed in the right direction.

http://www.nsmb.com/5214-hey-coach-ep-1/
    "Back off, man. I'm a scientist." - Dr. Peter Venkman

Riding in Helena? Everything you need to know, right here.

Rogue Exterminator
    Quote Originally Posted by william_s View Post
    Hi all. I'm a newbie mountain bike rider and I just bought my first bike. It's a 29er. My question is how do I effectively corner on a 29er? My first two rides I've almost wiped out, whereas it seems like the guys on the 26er bikes when around the corners faster. Should I be slowing down more than the other guys to turn the corners? Is there a technique that I'm missing?
    Slow down, not because it is a 29er but because you are a newbie.

Ride your ride and and don't worry about what others are doing or you will get hurt.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by evasive View Post
    You didn't say, but are the others more experienced riders? Cornering is a skill like any other, and has to be learned. Take a look at this page, and watch the video. It'll get you headed in the right direction.

Hey Coach! Ep. 1 - Mountain Bike Reviews, News, Photo and Video
    LOL @ "point your pecker".

Great video, btw.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Here's another video