mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Choosing between Remedy/Fuel/Enduro/Stumpjumper 29er

I've been a casual mountain biker for most of my life, and I've been riding a Gary Fisher X Caliber 29er for 10 years now. I recently moved from Boston to Southern NH and have been riding 5-7 days a week. In the past I've mostly ridden fire roads/double track/non technical stuff in the past, but out here the terrain tends to be single track, steep, technical and rocky. There's also a dedicated biking mountain/park out here that I really want to get out to. Given this, the age and overall setup of my current bike I've decided to upgrade.

I've been researching very heavily over the past few weeks, so while I know that threads like this can be annoying I'm doing my best to include what I've uncovered as well as my skill level, aspirations and type of riding terrain. Also, I don't want my riding to outgrow my bike in a year a necessitate another upgrade, so I'd rather buy more than I need now than less. That said, I don't want to go overkill with something that my skill level will never make the most of.

At any rate, during the course of my research I've narrowed it down to a short list of Trek Remedy or Fuel, or Enduro Comp or Stumpjumper FSR. I realize this is a broad group, but I feel the lower level bikes (Fuel, Stumpjumper) would err on the side of fitting my skill level now to in the immediate future while the two higher end choices (Remedy, Enduro) would suit me now and in the future.

My riding priorities are downhill and technical trail tied for first, climbing is significantly less important but still of interest. I'd also like something I can use as an XC bike for long, flatish rides. I am 5'11" and 220 right now; my goal is to drop to 195-205, so the overall weight of the bike is not terribly important (though I may upgrade the wheels for speed/handling later on).