mtbr member
    Oct 2008

New question here. Can I mod a Redline d440 29er for a sprint triathlon?

Hello, I'm a total newbie.
    I've ridden my Jamis Boss SS cruiser 8mi per day on the road for the past year, and also off road on my 1/4 dirt track.

I'm going to compete in my first triathlon in a couple of months, and the bike ride portion is 10 miles.

I HATE road bikes/tri bikes, I LOVE the 29ers at my local bike shop.

I'm on a budget, and like the Redline d440 as a starting point for a hopefully fast bike I can also ride off road. Weight isn't so much an issue as I weigh 210lbs. and it's a short race.

1. Do fairly smooth/narrow tires exist for 29er wheels? I've only found the Kenda Karma 1.9" wide tires.

2. What is an inexpensive way to "gear up" the redline d440 to some type of really high gearing - here in florida it's totally flat, so i don't need any lower gears. Ideally, it would be a single front gear and only a rear derailluer.

As no local shop sells redline, they all turn up their noses at me so I'm seeking online help.

Thanks for any advice,
    steve

MTB B'dos

Welcome

Guess you don't realise that 29er" actually use 700c rims, the options for road tyres is endless just pick whichever slick you want to run.

Quote Originally Posted by EvenOlder
    1. Do fairly smooth/narrow tires exist for 29er wheels? I've only found the Kenda Karma 1.9" wide tires.

Not sure how big a "big ring" you can fit on there, there are others who own or have ridden them that could shed light on this. But the easiest way would be to buy a used road crank maybe and use that instead of the MTBs compact gearing. Road bikes generally use eith a "normal" 53/39 or "compact" 50/34 crankset or sometimes a tripple based off either of those 2.

Quote Originally Posted by EvenOlder