mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Best rack for 29ers (hitch style) on Honda Odyssey

Hi All,

I'm a noob and my wife and I just purchased two 29ers. We have two small children that will eventually have bikes as well so I want the ability to carry 4 bikes. We drive a 2008 Honda Odyssey and have decided on a hitch style rack. I am looking at the Yakima Swingdaddy vs. Thule Vertex Swing vs. Saris Axis. Any opinion on if one is better than the others?? The most important feature to me would be ease of load/unload. Thanks in advance for your time folks!

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    no one has replied, so i will!!!

i don't have an odyssey but did have an '09 for a while

and, i don't have any experience with the racks you have mentioned - lol.

but i did do a google search and looked at the pictures.

i would prefer either the yakima or the thule as they have the swing away feature and that will allow you do access the rear of the van.

from the pictures the yakima appears to be a bit beefier(???).

also, how are you cables routed on the body of your bikes... are they under the bar or over?

if they are under the bar then maybe consider a tray system?

i have a single 1up single tray and it is crazy fast to load and unload.

also, you can add trays as needed... at a cost - ha!

that is all i have... i am sure you will get other replies!

joel

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    I went with a 1upUSA rack. My other choice was Kuat. I really like the 1upUSA rack. Search this forum for a very long 1upUSA thread. Unfortunately with bike racks "best" is expensive.

1UPUSA.com :: Bicycle Racks

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Sunderland View Post
    I went with a 1upUSA rack. My other choice was Kuat. I really like the 1upUSA rack. Search this forum for a very long 1upUSA thread. Unfortunately with bike racks "best" is expensive.

1UPUSA.com :: Bicycle Racks