Thread: Bent spokes/rim

mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Bent spokes/rim

Hey everyone. I'm relatively new to the mountain biking world and just recently bought myself a Giant Talon 29er. It's a wonderful bike and I'm enjoying it a lot. Except today i was out biking and I decided i wanted to get myself some lunch. I parked the bike on a bike rack (big mistake) and went inside. It was a fairly windy day so as you can probably guess the wind blew the bike over. I came outside and noticed the thing on its side and rushed over and picked it up. I looked for and damage and couldn't see any so i hopped on the bike and was on my way. About 10 minutes later i glanced down at the wheel as i was riding and noticed it wasn't straight. It was wobbly. I was devastated, i really was because this brand new bike of mine just got screwed up.

So the deal is. Is it fixable? Or am i screwed and need to buy a new wheel? Its only the front tire thats damaged so I'm not too sure the cost. Anybody have any suggestions for what i should do or similar experiences and what you did? Many thanks.

mtbr member
    Wheels can go out of whack 2 ways: due to uneven spoke tension, or a traumatic force causing the rim itself to bend. (or both, as a bent rim will generally take spokes out of tension) It is sounding like you are experiencing the latter given the circumstances. If the rim is in fact bent, you can sometimes 'cheat' your spoke tension and manage to get it pretty straight again, though uneven spoke tension might cause the wheel to come out of true easier in the future. If it is really bad, sometimes you can apply equal and opposite force to get the rim straight again (i.e. smash it straight) but while this is something I enjoy doing for my customers it can result in complete destruction of the wheel if it doesn't work so you should be mentally prepared to write the wheel off before proceeding with that option.