mtbr member
    Sep 2017

6' 1/2, 33 inches inseam on a XL Cannondale F-SI, how bad is it?

Hi there,

I am a fairly beginner on MT and I am looking to buy a Cannondale F-SI Carbon 1 Hi Mod XL. I know i should try it before but the price online is very tempting (2k), and I am considering to buy it without trying it. I dont have option to try Cannondale where I live at the moment.

My question is, how bad would I be riding it on different trails of Cali. Would it be too difficult to adapt it to myself? What are the constrains?

I would highly appreciate your thoughts and if I should simply not buy XL and stick with a more appropriate size for me (L).

Thank you heaps in advance.

Moderator Moderator
    A bike thats too big (or too small) will never feel good to ride, regardless of how much of a "bargain" it is.

Move along, another bike that fits properly is out there.

mtbr member
    Aug 2017
    I agree. You'll be over what you paid for it long before you're done riding it, and it if's too big it will be a bummer.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Given the 456mm reach for the XL and 436mm for the L you could be looking at the right size. But 200 off on a 2017 isn't much of a deal, imo. I'd look for something at 30%+ off. Find a bike and make a cash offer to the manager only. Don't even talk to a sales guy about price. And include a 2017 that is still at the manufacturers warehouse. Just no special shipping. 60% at order no refund is the custom to protect the shop.

mtbr member
    Sep 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by driver bob View Post
    A bike thats too big (or too small) will never feel good to ride, regardless of how much of a "bargain" it is.

Move along, another bike that fits properly is out there.
    Thanks!! I will

mtbr member
    Sep 2017
    Thanks a lot for the help. The price this new bike is US 4,200, I am getting it for 2,000 in Like New condition.
    I am 184cm (approx. 6ft 1/2 inch), 33 inch inseam.