Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

29er Build Advice

I'm finally taking the plunge into 29er territory. At 6'4" I probably should have done this earlier, all my riding buddies have been crapping on about them for years. Anyway, it's given me more time to save up and buy some nice things:

Frame is a Lynskey Pro 29 which I bought used (but looks pretty much untouched):

Fork is DT Swiss:

Wheelset is Mavic CrossMax SLR:

Most of the rest of the build will be moved over from my old 26 inch hardtail:

Some questions:

1. I'm not sure what type of headset I need. I'm new to the tapered steerer thing, and am struggling to understand all the terminology.

Is this Chris King here the right one?

Chris King I3 44/49 ZS Tapered Headset > Components > Headsets and Spacers > Headsets | Jenson USA Online Bike Shop

They have a 44/49ZS and a 44/56ZS as well as a I5 49 Mixed Tapered - I'm not sure what the difference is. From what I've read about 29ers it seems keeping the front end as low as possible is important - does that mean these inset headset designs are the way to go?

2. Further to the keeping the front end low thing - do I need to run a zero rise stem, or even reverse a stem? I will experiment with the ones I have before buying anything if it doesn't feel right, but advice is welcome.

3. Gearing. I want to use the 1x9 setup I have on the 26er (Chainring 32t, Cassette 11-34t). My main complaint of this gearing on the 26 is that I spin out too easily on the flats. Would I be right in thinking these ratios will feel a bit better on a 29er?

Any other advice welcome too.

mtbr member
    1. Yes. That's the correct headset.

2. That's personal preference but if your goal is to lower the handle bars then yeah, try flipping the current stem and if that doesn't work, start trying different rise angles and/or place with the spacers to move the stem up and down on the steerer tube.