Thread: 29er or 650b

29ers Forever

29er or 650b

I have recently been looking at a 29'er Trek Mamba for my next bike. What are the differences between a 650b and 29er, and which wheel size would you prefer?

mtbr member
    This has been discussed to excess..use the search function and you will have hours of reading.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by CannondaleF9 View Post
    I have recently been looking at a 29'er Trek Mamba for my next bike. What are the differences between a 650b and 29er, and which wheel size would you prefer?
    650b is 2 inches smaller wheel size. 29er excels in all areas but 150mm+ travel or if you are under 5 feet 2 inches tall.

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    I think that generally, as the wheels get bigger they roll over things better, and have a bit more inertia. So the smaller wheels spin up slightly quicker but they also seem to lose speed more easily over roots and rocks. The flipside to this is that the bigger wheels carry speed a bit better.

That said, I think there are much more important factors than wheel size that make a bike good or different, you need to consider things like geometry, build kit, suspension components etc.

The best way to decide what is best for you is to get a test ride...

29ers Forever
    I think that I would be much better off with a Mamba. I have already rode one and would buy it unless the 650b bike is significantly better. It sounds like it is not better for the type of riding I do.

mtbr member
    Do both

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    When I got my Potts built I really wanted to do 650b but a couple of years ago I was afraid to take the plunge. I think that now that there are plenty of fork, tire and rim manufactures I would be riding 650 instead of 29. Don't get me wrong, I love my bike but I am seriously considering getting another to add.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012