mtbr member
    Oct 2009

29er 1 X 9 frame up build advice sought...

I am new to mountain biking but have built a few road bikes up from scratch. I am learning about the different component groups, forks, wheels etc associated with mountain bikes. I am a fussy guy however and end up changing stuff out anyway so thought I might try a frame up build since I like my own seat, seatpost, handlebars, stem etc etc anyway. I need advice about the best way to go about it. I can find a frame no problem but really I need help understanding the path for the component group. If I build a single front chainring bike with 9 cog rear derailleur, is there a component mix already avaliable or should I pick everything up piece meal? I won't need a front derailleur or front thumb shifter. I am thinking about a Sram X.9 rear derailleur and RD shifter and likely Avid hydraullic brakes. Not sure about a decent wheel set either. What kind of front crank do you recommend?...33 teeth? I like a 175mm crank length.

I know this is a blank slate but please let me know your thoughts. I like components that are generally mid to mid-high end but don't want to pay the diminishing return for very high end for only a few grams saved.

Many Thanks.

mtbr member
    you can buy a right and left shifter & rear der. combo from price point, or just a left shifter and the der. separate. http://www.pricepoint.com/thumb/3-Pa...m-MTB-True.htm

Rider and Wrench
    Your going got alot of directions here but here is a start...

Shifter/Rear Der- X-9 is good stuff just shoot for a mid cage derailleur, you can get away with a short as well but most people run the med.