mtbr member
    May 2013

2013 Kona Kahuna and 2013 Norco Charger 9.1 Diary

I thought I'd start a little diary of our thoughts about, and experiences with, our new bikes.

The bikes . . .

Hubby has a 2013 Kona Kahuna with a 19" frame. I have a 2013 Norco Charger 9.1 with an 18.5" frame (note that the bike frame reads "19" but it is rounded up).

Our backgrounds . . .

I'm a life long rider: cruisers, road, and mountain (mountain exclusively for the last 18 years). I'm not technically skilled, and I'm not fast. I just enjoy it. I've always loved tinkering with bikes. I'm an engineer by profession, and I'm 40-years-old.

Hubby hasn't ridden a bike in 30 years (until the last three days). If something doesn't read "DeWalt" and have a power cord he's not particularly interested in the details of it. He's a 41-year-old carpenter.

We're both 5'10" tall, but I'm longer in the leg while he's longer in the torso (which is a typical variance between men and women). He's around 190lbs, while I'm around 135lbs (we both tend to fluctuate in weight by around 20lbs as we're serious foodies . . . I'm low-ish and he's high-ish right now).

How We Chose . . .

Brand loyalty had a lot to do with why I chose my bike. My first bike was a Norco (with a banana seat and ape hangers!) in 1977, and I loved it. My first nice road bike was a Norco Monterrey SL in 1985, and it was a dream. I've had other bikes throughout the years, but I remember those two the most fondly. I'm looking forward to the memories that my Charger, my family, and I will make together.