mtbr member
    Dec 2012

New question here. 2013 Giant Talon 0 vs 2013 Specialized RockHopper Comp vs 2012 Trek Cobia

I am starting mountain biking again after almost 6 years. Last time I mountain biked was in Nepal I have decided to go with one of these 29ers.

1. 2013 Giant Talon 0 - $1100
    2. 2013 Specialized Rockhopper Comp - $1100
    3. 2012 Trek Cobia - $1088

They all fit good but I am more leaning towards Giant Talon 0. What the decisive factor now are the parts that these bikes have. In last 6 years, parts have really evolved. Therefore I have no clue which bike gives a better bang for the buck (part wise). Any input/help is appreciated.

I wont be going anywhere near advanced trails. It will be mostly forest service roads and medium difficult trails.

going downhill silly fast
    Hi Fatsandwich

I have a 2013 Trek Mamba which is the config just a step down from the Cobia. The fork on the Cobia in particular is a more robust component. That said, I have been really pleased with the Mamba. Very solid and confident on Mostly intermediate trails. So, I can recommend the Trek as a very solid bike. $1,000 for the bike + components on the Cobia is a great deal for a very confident ride.

All those you mentioned are probably good bikes. I made my decision on the ride & feel more than components..as they all seemed about par..and I've been happy with the bike I ended up with. I am sure you will too.

Good luck!

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    The fork is the most important component for trail riding.
    The Suntour fork on the Spec limits it to bike paths and light trails. It lacks adjustable rebound damping. It will pogo if the bumps get close together. Not good value for the money.