Team Fainting Goats
    Jun 2011

2012 Specialized Rockhopper 26 or 29?

Brand new to the forum, please be gentle! I know this is a 29er post, but I need to hear this from people other than 26er fan boys. I am in the process of buying a 2012 RH, but cannot decide between the 26 and 29 whell size. I am being told that 29ers are hard to get moving and much heavier than 26rs. I am riding XC on beginner trails; I am new to MTB, but loving it! Price diff is $40.00 ($830 vs. $870) at my LBS. Any ideas? Thx in advance.

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    for only 40 dollars definitely go with a 29er. For beginner XC trails its definitely going to be better. A lot of the discussion on what is better is when talking about top of the line bikes and for what the pros ride.

A 29er will be heavier than a 26er, but on an entry level bike its not going to make a difference.

ballbuster

heh, look who you're asking!

Quote Originally Posted by barrjesu View Post
    Brand new to the forum, please be gentle! I know this is a 29er post, but I need to hear this from people other than 26er fan boys. I am in the process of buying a 2012 RH, but cannot decide between the 26 and 29 whell size. I am being told that 29ers are hard to get moving and much heavier than 26rs. I am riding XC on beginner trails; I am new to MTB, but loving it! Price diff is $40.00 ($830 vs. $870) at my LBS. Any ideas? Thx in advance.
    Well, if you really ride like by shooting out of a BMX gate, then 29er have a slight disadvantage in that department. Slight. Really... who rides like that except Dual Slalom racers?

IMO, everywhere else, 29er have the advantage. They roll way faster down the trail, and maintain their speed better. I say go 29er, but that is me. YYMV. Season to taste.

mtbr member
    Jan 2008
    2012?

Team Fainting Goats
    Jun 2011
    Yes, 2012. They are not on the Specialized website yet, but my LBS has them already. The only pics I could find is out of this Chicago site though: