Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

2011RIP 9 v. 2011 Fisher HIFI PRO 29

2K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  shodan22 
#1 ·
Let me preface this by saying I am not an expert. I have ridden moderately over the last 10 years on a hard tail and now I ride a new Fisher HIFI Pro 29er. I love the bike. I ride in Michigan, but am moving to Denver later this year. I was going to get a RIP but I couldn't find one in Michigan to demo. Of course, I didn't know it at the time, but there was one scheduled today. I already had the HIFI (which I got at a great price), but wanted to get out on a RIP. I rode a medium with a XO build. (I am 5'9", 173).

The test grounds trail was pretty technical---lots of ups and downs, tight turns and switchbacks. Pretty slow course.

I don't know how to break down the bikes like the folks do here because I do not understand the technical stuff all that much. I get on and ride, that's about it.

For what it's worth I did end up liking my HIFI better. I was quicker on it and I just felt more in tune, especially climbing. The RIP had a heavier up front feeling. I am not sure how to describe that and I am not saying it was a bad thing. I felt like I could make quicker adjustments on my HIFI and I felt like I was too far forward on the RIP (maybe I could have tweaked the seat better). That might just be because I am more dialed in on my bike (which I have put about 180 miles on so far). Maybe it was just the difference between XC and Trail, that I am not all that familiar with. At a prior demo, I was on an Epic Comp 29er, the Stumpy FSR 29er and the Giant Anthem X 29er.

These are all great bikes. I think I like the HIFI and the Giant of all the bikes I have been on so far, but I wouldn't be able to give the specifics as to why. I think if I were to have any one of these bikes handed to me for free I would just end up adapting to and loving that bike. I guess I just don't have enough hours on the different types.