mtbr member
    May 2013

2 bent rims in 2 months

I'm a beginner and I'm not a big guy. I'm 5'4" 140lbs maybe w/ gear on. I have a 2013 Specialized Camber 29er. Within 3 weeks of riding I bent the front rim. Got another wheel ($80 alex rim) Bent that one yesterday. I bought a $90 Sta-True TNT wheel.

What killed my alex rim was jumping a log and landing on another log. I'm a xc rider and like hopping logs and such. Is bending front wheels just a part of biking? If you crash ur front wheel is the 1st to take the impact. Or do I really just suck at XC and should I just stick to hockey?

Both rims were 32 spoke count.

But I love biking and I just wonder if bending wheels is a common thing with either crashing or 29ers

There's always next year.
    Others with more knowledge may come around, but my honest first thought is that you may need to work on your mtb skills-- if you're coming down directly on a log (depending on height, speed, etc) you'll most likely have a problem on your hands (from a crash to broken parts).

Its also likely that the first rim needed some attention... its not uncommon for wheels (especially lower end models) to need to be re-trued, adjusted after a few weeks of riding... and that may have contributed to bending the rim.

I'm assuming you've talked to the shop where you picked up the Camber? Warranty might have be out of the question, but they may have been able to do something for you. Also, they might be able to help you with skills development and finding group rides... both are a great way to get better at the sport! Stick with it... biking's a lot of fun!

mtbr member
    We all break stuff in the beginning. Once your technique gets better, you'll learn to ride smoother and in turn put less stress on your bike.

808+909 = Party Good Time