11. You may not vote on this poll
  • Mamba

1 9.09%
  • Cobia

10 90.91%
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

'13 Trek Mamba vs '13 Trek Cobia

I'm just getting into mountain biking after not having ridden for over 8 years. I just graduated collage and I decided this be fun and a good way to loose weight since I have a bunch of free time now.

My research has gotten me to these two bikes. I was initially interested in the Trek Marlin since I had one when I last rode (it was still a Gary Fisher at the time). The bike shop I went to suggested the Mamba over it since it has a decent increase in components. So I've been researching the Mamba and it seems to get very mixed reviews. The Cobia's reviews on the other hand are much better and seem to be generally positive.

The bike shop down the road from me wants $928 for the Mamba and I don't know about the Cobia but I assume about $200 more. Is the Cobia worth the extra money? The Mamba was already a bit more than I wanted to spend but I don't want to buy a Mamba and then spend more upgrading it. It would seem like the Cobia is worth it for the better brakes, drive train, and shock. Also I'm 6' 245lbs, kind of why I think the air shock might be better.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009

I went with the Cobia over the mamba. Part of it was the color scheme in 2011, but I also wanted the slightly better components. I think it was the lowest level 29 hard tail with hydro brakes at the time.

I was 285lbs at the time, now slightly over 300lbs. Need to slim back down. I just had a new wheelset built for it, and since I bought it I upgraded the pedals, handlebars, grips, and tires. I also put a 203mm rotor in the front and plan todo the same in the back.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009

My Cobia btw...

mtbr member
    May 2013