mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Good job! 1 year on "The Bred": A Santa Cruz Tallboy LTc Review

I've had my 2014 Santa Cruz Tallboy LTc for a year now, I’ve ridden 1,513 trail miles on it, and I thought somebody somewhere might appreciate what I have to say about it.

Build:
    Frame: Tallboy LTc XXL
    Fork: Fox 29 Float 140 changed out for RockShox Pike 140 then raised to 150
    Shock: Fox CTD Kashima
    Dropper: Stealth Reverb
    Wheels: Stan's Flows laced to Hope Pro 2 Evo
    Brakes: Shimano XT
    Drivetrain: Sram X01
    Tires: High Roller 2s/Ardents/Nobby Nics

For reference:
    1) I've been riding mountain bikes for 8 years. I'm no pro, but I can ride a mountain bike pretty well.
    2) My previous bikes were a 2010 Specialized Stumpjumper Elite and a 2012 Giant XTC.
    3) My riding style is what I call trail style: not XC, not "enduro". I ride local trails of East TN and Western NC; rocky, rooty, technical singletrack. If I see a ledge or a kicker, I'm going for it. If there is an opportunity to slide, consider it done. I ride hard and I like to get squirrely.
    4) I ride approximately 30-40 miles per week for 9 months out of the year with conditions ranging from wet to dry and loose to hard pack. For the other 3 months I ride whenever possible, usually about 10-30 miles per week in mostly wet/frozen conditions.
    5) I'm 25 yo, stand at 6’4.5”, and weigh about 195 lbs.

OK about the bike: In one sentence; It's a singletrack shred sled.
    I’ve really enjoyed this bike from the beginning; most likely from new bike syndrome. With that being said, I know what I’m after in a bike and this bike has it. The purpose of me buying this bike was really 2 things, well maybe 3: