Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Virtus pre nummis

“Single speed gear ratios, what do you find works best”

I have asked this question several times and everyone says by extra cogs and test them out to see which is best. So I started looking around and found this website

Thread title “Single speed gear ratios, what do you find works best”
    http://www.pinkbike.com/forum/listco...9389&pagenum=1

I copied the following posts and was wondering what all you guys think? Keep in mind I am a novice and just barely ride my bike. Started riding again at age 62 after not riding since I was 16, so take it easy on me fellas;
    ----------------------------------------------
    use this equation when calculating ratios it really helps...

divide your front chain ring (teeth) by the rear cog (teeth) then multiply by your wheel size.

for example mine is 36/16x26 = 58.5

a 55 is perfect for me... just some equation some brits showed me to calculate it all into a single number...
    -----------------------------------------------------
    aside from personal preference take the size of your sprocket multiply it by your wheel size then divide that by the size of your rear freewheel and you get your gear ratio. Ideal ratio is 55, not sure if this is totally true but I saw it on a bmx website a while back.

Ex. 30t sprocket X 26" ÷ 15t freewheel = 52
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    YES. USE THE FORMULA, YALL! IT'S EASY.

The single number is called "gear inches." It means how far your bike rolls with one exact 360 degree rotation of your cranks. So it is essential to factor in wheel size when picking your gears.