mtbr member
    Jul 2018

What do i do?? Buy new bike or keep kraken ???

So.. I'm pretty new to mountain biking. I grew up all my life pretty much attached to a BMX but now that I'm 25 I decided to swallow the pill and get a MTB... I picked up a Carrera Kraken 27.5'' 2015 edition (white and blue). At first I bought this bike just to mess around on and to get from A to B. It wasn't until me and my m8 went to a few local MTB trails at the beginning at the summer that I for the first time experienced fast paced downhill mountain biking (on this bike) and have decided to stick to it. We've probably been to the tracks around 4/5 times over the summer for the full day and had great fun...

In summary, I feel the Carrera Kraken is genuinely unbelievable on the trails. Both speed and control of the bike is brilliant. I couldn't help notice that every other rider there had high spec bikes though. Most of them full suspension bikes worth £1000 and most times even more. Its got me questioning wither or not the Kraken is the appropriate MTB to upgrade and keep for hammering these steep and technical trails ... I can't help but feel everyone is looking at me for having a cheap bike even though most time it looks better than theirs ..