mtbr member
    Sep 2017

Upgrading to a better Hardtail

Hi all,

First time poster here and just started getting into mountain biking earlier this year - and i'm hooked . Still in research process, but i'm planning on upgrading to a better hardtail bike by year end (not interested in Full Suspension).

Currently, i have Cannondale Catalyst 3 and while it has worked well for me, i started seeing its limit on technical, rocky / rooty trails (obviously the bike with cheapo fork was not meant for these trails, but was still fun nonetheless). The three bikes in my price range (under $2000) are:

While i've read reviews on SC and Norco bikes (both have had great reviews), i haven't seen / heard much about the giant fathom 1.

Any thought about these three? currently i'm drawn more to SC but the Giant with dropper post is really tempting. Geometry wise, it seems like all three have a similar modern / slack geometry, but being a noob, i might not have caught on the differences.

One thing to note - i will have local bikes shop support on SC and Giant, but i have no Norco dealer nearby, so there is that. Lastly, I'm not a speed demon. I ride to have fun, not to have the fastest time. I like a more technical trail where i have to learn and pick the right line, etc. enjoy flowy trail as well, but being in New England (CT), there is not much flowy trail around here.

Thanks in advance for the advise.

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    27.5+ isn't the same as 27.5 so you should settle on a wheel size first if you have a preference. Demo the bikes and see which one you like. If you feel like you might have warranty issues or the LBS offers free tune-ups or you just want to support them then stick with SC or Giant. Any reputable LBS should offer you maintenance and tuning services regardless of whether they sell the bike.
    Everyone is entitled to my opinion.

mtbr member
    Sep 2017