mtbr member
    Mar 2017

Marin Hawk Hill "Best Bike for around $1500.00"

I'm strong considering getting this bike or a bike in this price range. Please let me know what you guys think. The sales rep immediately moved to another version of Marin "$2400.00". He said I will want to upgrade not sure how he knew I would upgrade but I'm a total beginner trail rider only.

http://www.marinbikes.com/us/bikes/d...hill-multitrac

Thank you

mtbr member
    Everybody upgrades if they stay in the game. It's just a matter of time.
    2018 Intense Tracer
    2017 Intense Primer
    2016 Santa Cruz 5010

mtbr member
    Mar 2017
    so if you going to upgrade anyway then shouldn't you start with an entry level bike and only upgrade those items you feel are necessary? Or should you spend the extra 1K and then upgrade anyway?

mtbr member
    Dec 2014
    Upgrading is fun if you're inclined to enjoy shopping and fiddling around with your bike. As for value it is better to buy the high-end model and already have better wheels, shifters, maybe brakes and suspension too. Then instead of doubting your equipment you can focus on trail-skills. As an old guy who has ridden several well worn bikes, and spent $ on new bikes, I'd say you should buy middle to high-end models and then spend time and money on instruction. It is always fun to ride trails, but it is more fun to ride your bike well. Lot of satisfaction being smooth and fast.
    oops I wasn't clipped in

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by ernestovr View Post
    I'm strong considering getting this bike or a bike in this price range. Please let me know what you guys think. The sales rep immediately moved to another version of Marin "$2400.00". He said I will want to upgrade not sure how he knew I would upgrade but I'm a total beginner trail rider only.

http://www.marinbikes.com/us/bikes/d...hill-multitrac

Thank you