mtbr member
    Jul 2018

Major headset issue!! Help!

Ok. I think my bearings have went kapoot on my Carrera Kraken. Its booked in for a service at the end of the month. I was going to buy a headset to send away with it to be fitted. I know from experience and through a few forum threads that the headsets in these bikes aren't up to much so I've decided to get on top of it before its too late .

My issue lies with what headset to get?? Im pretty new to MTBing and have no clue about this kind of thing. From online specs, it says my bike has a semi 1.1/8 integrated headset. Does this mean I have to buy another 1.1/8 semi integrated headset to replace this or can I go ahead and buy a threadless headset and have that fitted by the shop easily enough to the bike??? ... I need this dumbed down also, what type of headsets are best??

I'd appreciate some help by people who know what they're talking about when it comes to this kind of thing. The relevant bike specs are as follows... They're not as detailed as I'd like them to be hence the reason I'm so confuse rn.

Forks: SUNTOUR XCR-32 LO COIL 27.5'' - 1.1/8 Steerer
    Headset: 1.1/8 Semi Integrated

mtbr member
    Sep 2017
    All modern headsets are threadless. Only difference now is size of the headtube (bottom and top) and whether each end is integrated (flush with headtube) or not.

Most headtubes are tapered now with 44mm on the top and 49mm on the bottom. There are some variations though. Some are still 1 1/8 all the way through, some are 1 1/2 all the way.

Chris King headsets are good, so are Wolf Tooth. Both are $100+. A cheaper option would be a Cane Creek headset.

mtbr member
    Jul 2018
    so say I bought this 1.1/8 Threadless FSA headset. Would the shop be able to fit this onto my bike thats currently running a 1.1/8'' Semi-integrated Headset?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FSA-Orbit...Tl9&rmvSB=true