Thread: Junk bike?

mtbr member
    Nov 2015

Junk bike?

Just getting back into mtb after several years. Currently riding my dad's old schwinn MOAB 3.

I'm currently not in a rush to find a bike, so ive been scoping used/closeout/online/ etc for a decent bike. Imagine my surprise when I see this GT Ricochet at *****. Is this thing any good (for an entry level bike.) Its the first bike I've seen sub 450 that has Alivio derailleur and hydro brakes (albeit cheap ones). It seems slightly better than other entry level bikes at considerably less money (compared to the pitch, marlin, revel, trail 5 or 6, etc.)

I feel my best bang for buck is save more and go airborne or bulls, but I'm only 5'7" so I think I want to stay no bigger than 27.5. Used 27.5 market it slim out here in Indiana.

So, my actual question.

Is this any good to build upon? I've been a mechanic for several years, and have built motorcycles from the frame up; I'm not afraid to upgrade when needed.

This would also leave me about $200 leftover, most likely to upgrade to SR airfork.

mtbr member
    LOL, forum software has removed the male reproductive part of the address you have linked to...

Just about any bike below $800 is not going to be considered good to build upon by most here. They almost always have heavier, non-butted tubing of a weaker alloy, so heavier, more flexy, and breaks sooner.

The biggest beware is most of the bikes in this price range are not designed for XC riding. Paved or very smooth trails, but not your typical XC trail most of us ride. Components and frame will not stand up to regular mtb use, and will end up costing more in replaced parts that starting off with an entry level XC build.

I do not consider Alivio to be XC level gear. It'll get you by for awhile, but you have to take extra care to keep it away from everything. The rear derailleur is sloppy and requires too much tinkering IMO.