mtbr member
    Oct 2016

Giant Stance 2 27.5 (Need Help)

Hey everyone, so lately I've done a few trail rides at my local bike park on my dads old Giant Yukon. Unsurprisingly, Yesterday it broke and now I'm looking at purchasing a new bike. The trails I do are mostly downhill, decent sized jumps and a few gnarly rock gardens and the old Yukon has finally given its way on the Black Diamond run. I am new to the sport but have done my research and am from a BMX and MX background so the jumps and speed doesn't phase me as much and I've managed to link MTB and MX finding that both sports are very similar and require similar body position and technique, Hence being quite decent for a "beginner". So now I have been looking at purchasing a new bike and firstly come across the Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29er hardtail AUD$1100, although I'd much prefer a full suspension. So I found myself in my local Giant retailer, the cheapest full suspension they had was the Giant Stance 2 27.5 2017 (AUD $1800, %20 off special) the bike looks super nice and seems to check all the boxes for my budget; which was originally $1100...Whoops. Anyway I would love to hear what everyone thinks of the Giant Stance 2, if you have owned, rode or know stories of the Stance 2 please let me know. The bike doesn't necessarily have to be the most comfortable ride but has to be reliable enough not to break casing jumps/drop offs etc. Cheers, Jay

EDIT: Bike brands are a little bit more limited here in Australia and mostly consist of Trek, Specialized and Giant...

mtbr member
    Look there are two options:

1) All the people who have written down their experiences with the Giant Stance in several dedicated threads inside the Giant forum at mtbr (surprise surprise...) come over here and write all that again just for you...

or

2) ...you navigate to the Giant forum and start reading the Giant Stance threads:

Giant Stance??

Giant Stance - Post your mods, pics and specs

mtbr member