mtbr member

2016 Mondraker Foxy R

I have been riding a Kona Tanuki FS since the end of 2013.
    In that time l've been out on 4-5 times a week and it has served me well.
    I was looking at buying a 2016 Foxy R but cannot find any reviews on it.
    Has anybody on here bought one, or ridden one?
    My Tanuki is a 17" frame and l am five foot six with 29" inside leg. The Tanuki fits me great, much better than my old Marin FS which was a "small" (15 1/2" frame)
    The shop says l need the "small" Foxy as they are a "long frame" but l thought the short stem made up for that?
    I ride XC and am a fast descender, although l tend to grind rather than sprint up the climbs.

mtbr member
    Anybody at all ridden one of these yet?

mtbr member
    Bike Radar had a review of the 2015. Not sure how much has changed, but they said it suffers on the climbs. Since you already own a Kona, have you looked at their new stuff? 2014 was a game changing year for them and the Process line has much to offer.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Dec 2009
    suffering on the climbs would be relative to the lighter kit on the xr or carbon Foxy. Latest Konas are not good climbers.Foxy has steep seat angle and plenty of antisquat so relative to many, if not most, it will be a good climber comparing lb for lb.

Mondraker Foxy XR 27.5

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by gvs_nz View Post
    suffering on the climbs would be relative to the lighter kit on the xr or carbon Foxy. Latest Konas are not good climbers.Foxy has steep seat angle and plenty of antisquat so relative to many, if not most, it will be a good climber comparing lb for lb.

Mondraker Foxy XR 27.5
    Uh, latest Konas aren't good climbers? Wrong. I own a Process 134, and it climbs better than several other bikes I demoed in same class/category. New Hei Hei is similar.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Timothy G. Parrish View Post