I Ride for Donuts

Santa Cruz Bantam

So this Bantam thing was released on the same day I got $2500 for a motorcycle I have been trying to sell...

I'm a researcher, review-reader, over-analyzer when it comes to this kind of thing, so it's killing me to not have any real first hand reviews of the thing. I've been reading Heckler reviews and digging into the merits and drawbacks of single-pivot.

What's the collective opinion? Worth it for the parts spec? Honestly seems a bit pricy for what you get, but it's a proven design...

Initial thoughts?
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by CommuterBoy View Post
    So this Bantam thing was released on the same day I got $2500 for a motorcycle I have been trying to sell...

I'm a researcher, review-reader, over-analyzer when it comes to this kind of thing, so it's killing me to not have any real first hand reviews of the thing. I've been reading Heckler reviews and digging into the merits and drawbacks of single-pivot.

What's the collective opinion? Worth it for the parts spec? Honestly seems a bit pricy for what you get, but it's a proven design...

Initial thoughts?
    Depends on what you're looking for I guess but I have a TB and a singl pivot SL , both are awesome , I'm sure it's plenty sweet for the price.

mtbr member
    May 2004
    It is being referred to as a 27.5 Superlight, but I think it is more like a 27.5 Nickel without the APP.

I've been thinking about getting a complete Heckler,since I don't have any 27.5 wheels or fork.I figure it would cost close to $3000 if I just buy the frame, fork and decent lightweight wheels separately. However all those items(the parts I want) are in short supply,so I'm just going to wait until spring. I guess it's about how long you want to wait vs getting what you want.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigrocks View Post