mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Cool-blue Rhythm Newb Starting in the Sport, Looking for Budget Upgradeable 27.5er

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the MB sport and would like to get a MB to tackle my local trails and occasional road riding. I'd like suggestions on a full-suspension MB that can be had for $500 or under (Wishful thinking) or under $1,000, and parts can also be upgraded in the future as I progress in the sport.

I like tinkering with mechanical parts and take interest in riding just as much as building it. Ultimately, I'd like to keep this bike for the years to come and upgrade from being a budgeted bike to a more high-end bike with more quality parts.

I'm still in the process of doing researches and understanding the specifics of MBs though but thought I'd post this to get inputs from other fellow enthusiasts

To my knowledge, finding a frame that is compatible with a wide range of aftermarket components is one criteria in determining whether a bike have lots of upgrade choices in the future, correct?

Also, I'd like to look for a bike that utilizes V-brakes; they can also be upgraded in the future, correct?

Cheers all and hope y'all can be patient with a newb

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    There are no full suspension bikes for $1000, much less in 27.5". Giant had a $1000 26" for 2013, but that bike is now gone. Most, if not all, 27.5" FS bikes start at $2000. Budget hardtails that are worthy of taking to the trails once a week maybe start at $500. Giant and KHS have hardtails in 27.5 in the $500-$1000 range. No one uses V-brakes anymore. Go disc and you will have a lot less headaches as far as future proofing.