mtbr member
    Aug 2013

First impression; Trance SX

First off, my opinion is skewed as I have been riding the same Stumpjumper FSR since 2001. It was wired for it's time. Psylo fork, Avid brakes, Mavic wheels..... Anyway, back in the day...

So the Chumpjumper received a fatal blow. Time to go new.

I knew things had changed but damnnn! I did the research, asked around and received like responses. 27.5 was the way to go and the Giant Trance SX fit my check list.

Wow! It does EVERYTHING better. It eats Texas babyheads and roots, attacks corners, soaks up drops..... BUT, it climbs! The "climb" settings on the shock and fork allow for very quick acceleration and in "trail" you can charge up rock climbs and the suspension just tracks.
    1 x10? What were we doing with 3 x 9? Dropper post with bar controls? Its almost embarrassing. Almost. Fork and shock feel very balanced and dampen in ways my old bike just couldn't comprehend.

Again, my last bike was 12 years old but this bike is sick. I cant think of a place this bike would not work.

Just my 2cents.

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    So I take it that you like it?? ;-)

mtbr member
    Several leaps in bike frame and suspension technology alone from a 2001 to current bike, I'm sure its like another world.
    Hardrock 29er, Niner EMD9, Cannondale F29, Camber Expert, 650b Nickel all gone.
    2014 Giant Anthem 27.5 here.

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    Finally someone has ridden one! I have a demo in two weeks although I am pretty much set on buying it already.

Brakes and drivetrain feel ok? They are lower spec'd than the Trance 1.

What size did you go for and how tall are you?

The fact you enjoy it so much makes me happy

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    good to hear that plan of getting one too,.

JCL
    mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    They're a bit square aren't they? Had a spin around the other day. I'd want a medium seat tube on a large front centre.
    Last edited by JCL; 09-27-2013 at 08:26 PM.

mtbr member