mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Custom Rim Brake Build

Hi All -

Brand newbie here.

I want to build an ultralight xc hardtail and looking for recommendations. I want a 650b FRAME in carbon, titanium, or scandium that is compatible with rim brakes. Does anyone know of such A FRAME? (FYI I ride about a 16.5 - 17" frame.)

Just because I know you're all going to give me crap, I want rim brakes because I weigh 105 lbs., and I'm building an ultralight bike, so I just don't need a lot of stopping power. Plus, living in New Mexico, I rarely ride in wet, muddy conditions.

Thank you!

Moderator Moderator
    Jan 2004
    Rim selection (or, to be more accurate, lack thereof) is going to mean your rim brake setup will be heavier than a nice disc setup anyway, just go disc. You will not find any 650b production frames for rim brakes. Heck, I'm struggling to think of any 29" or 26" ones either...

-Walt
    Waltworks Custom Bicycles
    Park City, UT USA
    www.waltworks.com
    waltworks.blogspot.com

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    The only new rim I can think of is the PL23, and that's more of a road/CX rim. ~400g.

You could try to source some old ZTR 355's, but then your stuck with nothing when those rims wear out.

I would source an old frame with V-brakes and make it work some some adapters.

I'd personally go disc. Even people that weigh 105lbs need better modulation........maybe you could go 140 front and rear to an ultimate weight weenie.

mtbr member
    I fully support your preference for rim brakes.

If you are willing to pay for a custom frame I don't see why it would be a problem to get the brake mounts added.

If you plan on having a front suspension fork, that could be more of an issue.

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    They do make them in 29ers. The Voodoo Bokor or the Astrix Rook frames are a possibility (because they're aluminum,) but I wanted to see if there's anything else lighter. (My post was actually asking for frame recommendations, not rim recommendations.)