mtbr member
    Jan 2010

building 650b on a tight budget

I'm thinking about building up a 650b conversion. I'm new to this, and I gotta say reading all the info on here is getting a intimidating. I'm having a tough time sorting things out in these long threads.

Anyone have any suggestions for the budget builder? Of course everyone everyone wants the holy grail of light, durable, and inexpensive, and I know sometimes thats not possible. But I'll take any suggestions I can get.

I've been reading about wheels and thought the the Light Bicycle carbon were an awesome deal. But now I'm reading about Stan's and Pacenti. And the confusion starts again.

Then there's the fork. Go with a new 650 specific model? A non-650b that fits the 27.5 tires? Can't really find a specific list of those anywhere. Where can I get in with decent quality at a low price point.

Someone out there has to know where the deals are.

I appreciate any tips or suggestions.

thanks

mtbr member
    May 2011
    What are you looking at accomplishing exactly? I'm bought a Santa Cruz Nickel frame and have been ebaying majority of my parts for great deals. Also been getting parts from friends for good deals. Seems everyone has parts lying around. I'm using a 26" fork off a Specialized Stuntjumper and got a great deal on ebay on some American Classics 650b wheelset.

The White Jeff W
    Yeah it would help if we knew what your budget is. Do you have a bike that will fit 650B or are you starting from scratch?
    No moss...

mtbr member
    Yes, more info would be helpful. I was going to suggest a Nickel too.... looks like their all gone from SC's clearance page though. They've got Butchers if you're looking for a bigger bike though...
    Santa Cruz Bicycles
    I think you're on the right track looking at Stan's or Pacenti wheels too. With either you can pick the rim that suits you best.