mtbr member

650 compared to 29er

Currently riding a KM. Really like the 29er in comparison to the 26er I used to ride. I am thinking of giving the Haro Beasley a shot, trying out both the ss and the 650b. How do people who have ridden both (650 and 29, not necessarily the models mentioned).

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I have been riding 29ers for over 4 years. I recently got a 650B SS that I really like. So far I'm happy, but I still have 2 more things to test. (Too bad it going to rain bad all week) I want to ride my 29er again (been on the 650B for about 7 straight rides), to get a comparison. I also want to try a 29er front wheel.

I personally don't think it as a bad idea to give the Haro a try.

mtbr member
    How tall are you?

I'm 5'9" tall and have ridden a 29er for the last few years. But I've now got a Haro Beasley in to test for www.ridemonkey.com and I'm starting to lean towards the 650b wheelsize for my height. If we didn't get hammered with a boatload of snow, I'd be doing more trail testing over the holidays, but unless something drastic happens that probably won't happen.

But for riders who are in that 5' to 6' range I think the 650b is a viable wheelsize for the right application.

For folks who are 6'3" and up especially - I think that 29" hoops might be more proportional to their body size.

Just my humble opinion.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by MMcG
    For folks who are 6'3" and up especially - I think that 29" hoops might be more proportional to their body size.

Just my humble opinion.
    A humble cutoff ? Im' 5'8" and love big hoops and alwys ridden trekking 700c together with 559mm steel rigid and feel way better and faster on 700c and 584mm will not fit in my old Merida Kalahari 2001.
    6'3" ought to be on 32" hoops. If 29" can be fitted on 15" frame so 32" on 18" one could be, I want to try them out with proper gearing, which is the major culprit for abandonning 29ers or misjudgements.

mtbr member