Thread: 27.5+ vs 29+

mtbr member
    Sep 2009

27.5+ vs 29+

I am plotting to finally build myself a new bike, I want a + bike, can't decide on the wheel size. It will likely be a Gnarvester frame, unless someone comes out with a reasonably priced Ti 27.5+ frame, I will build it 1x10 with a suspension fork, but will also swap to SS and rigid at times. I am 5'8", ride in New England, so lots of short technical climbs, twisty trails, not much high speed flow, but I do take trips to CO/UT/etc. With my height, and the trails I ride, what makes the most sense for wheel size?

I have only ridden a 29+ around a parking lot, so I have no real world experience on either + size...and there aren't any demos I can try easily...

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    Anyone? Did I ask the question wrong?

mtbr member
    Dec 2008
    For tight tech trails a 29+ sounds awfully big. I have a 26+ and my son a 29er. On my 26+ I feel more confident in the nasty tight stuff. If the bike was for 20 mile cross county trips then 29+ might be better. I do the idea of the new 27.5+ bikes and hope to see and ride one on the trail.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    My $0.02:

I've got a Krampus and while the frame itself is cool the dearth of aggressive 29+ tires means you can't ever get the most out of it. It's kind of like riding a downhill bike shod with Maxxis Ikons - sure it works and sure it rolls fast but you'll never be able to use the bike like it was intended.

If/when the Dirt Wizards come out it may change things but do you really want a bike with only one tire choice? I'm aware of the Knard, TraxFatty, Chupacabra, Fat-B-Nimbles, etc but they're all the same sort of low profile/fast rolling tires.

If I was starting over I'd go with a regular 29er with 27+ clearance based on the tire options alone.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by jnroyal View Post
    If I was starting over I'd go with a regular 29er with 27+ clearance based on the tire options alone.